Experience our thrills and passion, at the heart of the Zaërs region while dicovering a local estate full of character, a unique wineyard and the world of our cellars.

Over a century ago

Created in 1908, La Ferme Rouge is an estate in the agricultural sector, dedicated to the cultivation of vines and olives. Built in 1933 among vineyards and olive trees, the winery has fully been restored. Mixture of original architecture and modernity, La Ferme Rouge cellars are entirely dedicated to our passion for wine. As early as 1998, the first efforts have revolved around fixing and reorganizing the farm. Soil revival, addition of composts rich in organic matter, implementation of a vast water network through the estate, drilling rainwater and groundwater retention and storage basins, uprooting of the old vines, soil mixing in an effort to restore their permeability, elimination of untimely plowing, thus leaving way for all forms of natural micro-fauna, revival of old plots, planting new grape varieties suited for this type of soil and climate, and suited to the philosophy of producing wine with atypical grape varieties.

A Unique location

La Ferme Rouge enjoys a unique location at the heart of the Zaërs region, highly praised among the great historical wine regions of Morocco. Positioned about 45 km from the ocean, bordered on the west by the valleys of Wadi Korifla and on the south by the foothills of the Middle Atlas, La Ferme Rouge rises in a succession of hills at 450 meters above sea level and enjoys a strong Atlantic influence all year round. From the rich Merchouch platter clays, to the filtrating "Tirs" slopes of the Rommani region, through the "Hamris" Had Brachoua valleys, this continuous 300 hectare ​​vine estate enjoys a rich and exceptional soil : ancient sands, red clay at 30-70 cm from the soil, clay ferric on clay-limestone subsoil and shale. A great terroir and many elements conferring the finesse, structure and character strength of La Ferme Rouge wines, reviving a historically praised estate.

A wine producing vocation

More than ever, through a family’s hard work and great commitment, La Ferme Rouge revolves around the wine production world with its reconstructed vineyard, its restored cellar, a unique terroir, its winemaker philosophy and its history anchored in contemporaneity. From trimming to green harvesting, our wine gets established in the vineyards all year round. Harvesting is done manually and cooled after going through the sorting and de-stemming tables, the grapes are pressed, not crushed, in small open thermo-regulated concrete vats. The grapes are hand picked, and daily pumping is performed during the fermentation process, in order to favor a gentle extraction. La Ferme Rouge Wines benefit from traditional savoir-faire as well as modern oenology skills.

To achieve great wines, you need a perfect synergy between a unique terroir, a suitable vine and passionate men.

La Ferme Rouge’s history is intimately coupled with Morocco’s contemporary wine history. The estate’s current configuration was mapped in 1908. The cellar was built in 1933, when the first vintage was produced. La Ferme Rouge finds its role as a grape producer through the 1970’s. It was not until 2001 that the entire estate regained its original identity and entity. 2009 launched the Estate’s wine production renaissance, while remaining in strict compliance with La Ferme Rouge’s native architecture; the winery, the cellars, the production and storage facilities were carefully restored in order to start wine production again.

The richness and diversity of our grapes, a balanced viticulture, and a perfect blend of traditional expertise and modern oenology symbolize the noble spirit and the unique identity of La Ferme Rouge Vineyard.

The vineyard whites, through light South West facing slopes and over ancient clay and limestone sand, is scattered with white limestone rock fragments. Chardonnay, Sauvignon and Viognier, among the vineyard whites, tap into shale for all their subtleties and aromatic complexity. Syrah, Tannat, Cabernet Sauvignon, Tempranillo, Marcellan, Malbec, Merlot, Arinarnoa and Petit Verdot embody the red wine grapes, while Grenache and Cinsault make up for the gray and rosé wines; they are ideally suited for our ‘Tirs’ 'and' 'Hamris' soils.

Our estate

La Ferme Rouge enjoys a unique location in the heart of the Zaërs region, a highly
praised historic place among the great wine regions of Morocco.


"Without healty, living soil there is no sustainable viticulture, and much less local terroir wines."

Here's Jacques Poulain’s Challenge, with his team: to develop and raise a unique wine that carries up the great spirit of La Ferme Rouge, within their fully restored cellars, while reviving the dignity of this unique vineyard, located at the heart of a long forgotten terroir.

Jacques Poulain

Partagez nos passions et nos émotions, en plein cœur de la région des Zaërs en découvrant un terroir de caractère, un vignoble unique et l’univers de nos chais.

Il y a plus d'un siècle

Créée en 1908, la Ferme Rouge, domaine à vocation agricole, est dédiée à la culture de la vigne et de l’olivier. Construite en 1933, au milieu des vignes et des oliviers, la cave a été entièrement restaurée. Mélange d’architecture originelle et de modernité, les chais de la Ferme Rouge sont entièrement voués à notre passion du vin. Dès 1998, les premiers efforts ont été portés sur la réfection et la réorganisation totale de la ferme. Relance de la vie des sols, apport des composts riches en matière organique, mise en œuvre d'un réseau hydrique de tout le domaine, forages, bassins de rétention et de stockage des eaux de pluie et souterraines, arrachage des vieilles vignes, brassage des sols pour leur rendre leur perméabilité, arrêt des labours intempestifs, laissant vivre ainsi toutes les formes de microfaune, redonner vie aux anciennes parcelles, planter de nouveaux cépages adaptés au climat, aux sols, à la philosophie du vin voulant être produit avec un encépagement atypique.

Une situation unique

La Ferme Rouge jouit d’une situation unique en plein cœur de la région des Zaërs, haut lieu patrimonial des grands terroirs viticoles du Maroc. À 45 km de l’océan, bordée à l'ouest par les vallées de l'oued Korifla et au sud par les premiers contreforts du Moyen-Atlas, la Ferme Rouge s'élève en succession de coteaux à 450m d'altitude et bénéficie toujours d’une forte influence atlantique. Des argiles riches du plateau de Merchouch, des "Tirs" filtrantes des coteaux de Rommani, en passant par les "Hamris" des vallons de Had Brachoua, ce domaine de 300 hectares de vignes d’un seul tenant, présente une richesse de sols exceptionnels : sables anciens, argiles rouges à 30-70 cm de sol, glaise ferrique sur sous-sols argilo-calcaire et schistes. Un grand terroir et autant d’éléments qui confèrent finesse, structure et force de caractère aux vins de la Ferme Rouge qui font revivre ainsi un Domaine historique.

Une vocation viti-vinicole

Plus que jamais, après des années de travail et de volonté d’une famille, le domaine de la Ferme Rouge s’inscrit dans le monde viti-vinicole contemporain avec son vignoble reconstitué, sa cave restaurée, son terroir unique, sa philosophie vigneronne et son histoire ancrée dans la modernité. Tout au long de l’année dans les vignes, de la taille aux vendanges en vert, notre vin se construit. Les vendanges sont effectuées manuellement et refroidies après un passage sur la table de tri et un égrappage, le raisin est rentré, non foulé, dans une cuverie béton ouverte, thermorégulée de petits contenants. La vendange est pigée manuellement et des remontages journaliers sont effectués pendant la fermentation, afin de privilégier une extraction douce. Les vins de la Ferme Rouge allient le savoir-faire traditionnel et les acquis de l'œnologie moderne.

Pour élaborer de grands vins, il faut un mariage parfait entre un terroir unique, un végétal adapté et des hommes passionnés.

L’histoire de la Ferme Rouge se mêle intimement à l’histoire contemporaine du Maroc viticole. La configuration actuelle du domaine a été dessinée en 1908. La cave est construite en 1933: le premier millésime est produit. En 1970, la Ferme Rouge retrouve au fil des ans, sa vocation de producteur de raisins. C’est en 2001 que l’ensemble du domaine retrouve son entité originelle. L'année 2009 marquera le renouveau vinicole, dans le pur respect de l’architecture de naissance de la Ferme Rouge, avec la restauration de la cave de vinification, des chais de production, de stockage et d’élevage pour vinifier de nouveau.

Richesse et diversité de cet encépagement, viticulture raisonnée, mariage parfait du savoir-faire traditionnel et de l'œnologie moderne, symbolisent l’esprit noble et l’identité unique des vins du domaine de la Ferme Rouge.

Le vignoble des Blancs, en légers coteaux, exposé Sud Sud-Ouest, sur des sables anciens et argilo-calcaire est parsemé d’éclats de roches de calcaire blanc. Les Chardonnay, Sauvignon et Viognier, sur l’ensemble du vignoble des Blancs, puisent dans les schistes toutes leurs finesses et leurs complexités aromatiques. Les cépages destinés aux vins rouges, Syrah, Tannat, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Tempranillo, Marcellan, Malbec, Merlot, Arinarnoa, Petit Verdot, et Cinsault, Grenache pour les vins gris et rosés, sont idéalement plantés sur nos sols de ‘‘Tirs’’ et ‘‘Hamris’’.

Notre domaine

La Ferme Rouge jouit d’une situation unique en plein cœur de la région des Zaërs,
haut lieu patrimonial des grands terroirs viticoles du Maroc.


"Sans sols vivants il n'y a pas de viticulture durable et encore moins de vins de terroir."

Voici le défi lancé par Jacques Poulain et son équipe : élaborer et élever dans leurs chais entièrement restaurés, un vin unique qui porte haut l'esprit de la Ferme Rouge en redonnant toutes ses lettres de noblesse à ce vignoble situé au cœur d'un terroir oublié.

Jacques Poulain